Cyril slate riles the ANC


A slate for the ANC’s December elective conference purportedly from the Cyril Ramaphosa camp has emerged with Zweli Mkhize named as his deputy and Gauteng Premier David Makhura named as secretary-general.

The slate also proposes 80 names for the party’s national executive committee.

This led the ANC on Monday to plead with its structures and leagues to “hold back” on the party’s succession debate.

It also follows President Jacob Zuma’s view in the January 8 anniversary statement to do away with slates.

The ANC Women’s League and Youth League last week entered the fray by expressing their support for Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma as Zuma’s successor.

ANC national spokesperson Zizi Kodwa responded to the slate with a stern warning to the ANC’s structures, “including the ANC Women’s League”, to refrain from making public statements on the leadership issue.

“The ANC has not opened the succession debate. What we have discussed is a set of principles to guide the debate. We call on all structures to desist from making premature announcements,” Kodwa said.

The list, which has been seen by The New Age, also punts Thandi Modise as chairperson and Vuyiswa Tulelo for the position of deputy secretary-general.

Minister of Sport Fikile Mbalula tops the list for the NEC which includes Pravin Gordhan, Senzo Mchunu, Mathews Phosa, Ebrahim Rasool and Cheryl Carolus. The slate comes at a time when the tripartite alliance has been unequivocal in their disapproval of “slate politics”.

Added to the mix was the ANCWL telling The New Age that it would not buckle under the weight of criticism levelled against it for backing Dlamini Zuma to lead the ANC.

The league also punted the names of Baleka Mbete, Lindiwe Sisulu, Maite Nkoana Mashabane and Nomvula Mokonyane for positions.

Kodwa said yesterday the leagues of the party should heed Zuma’s call for unity made at the party’s 105th anniversary celebrations on Sunday.

He said that ANC structures speaking on the succession debate risked further divisions in the organisation.

“All announcements are premature, ill-disciplined and divisive. They are meant to divide the organisation further,” Kodwa said.

Political analyst Aubrey Matshiqi said that it was a lost cause for the ANC to try to keep a lid on the succession debate.

“The issue as to whether the succession debate should happen or not does not matter because it has been happening anyway and it will continue to happen irrespective of what the ANC demands from its members,” he said. Matshiqi said slate politics in the ANC threatened to deprive the ruling party of credible leaders.

ANC National Executive Committee 2017:

National Congress: President: Cde Cyril Ramaphosa (GP)

Deputy President: Cde Zweli Mkhize (KZN)

National Chairperson: Cde Thandi Modise (NW)

Secretary General: Cde David Makhura (GP)

Deputy General Secretary: Cde Vuyiswa Tulelo (NC)

Treasure General: Cde Enock Godongwana (EC)

National Executive Committee additionals:

1. Cde Fikile Mbalula (FS)

2. Cde Zizi Kodwa (EC)

3. Cde David Masondo (LP)

4. Cde Andile Lungisa (EC)

5. Cde Ronald Lamola (GP)

6. Cde Buti Manamela (LP)

7. Cde Soviet Lekganyana (LP)

8. Cde Malusi Gigaba (KZN)

9. Cde Bheki Cele (KZN)

10. Cde Senzo Mchunu (KZN)

11. Cde Madala Masuku (MP)

12. Cde Rudolph Phala (LP)

13. Cde Joe Maswanganye (LP)

14. Cde Thandi Mahambehlala (WC)

15. Cde Lucky Montana (GP)

16. Cde Solly Mapaila (GP)

17. Cde Tasneen Essop (WC)

18. Cde Naledi Pandor (GP)

19. Cde Lindiwe Sisulu (GP)

20. Cde Max Sisulu (GP)

21. Cde Thulasi Nxesi (EC)

22. Cde Slumko Nondwangu (EC)

23. Cde Pule Mabe (GP)

24. Cde Cedrick Florick (NC)

25. Cde Cassel Mathale (LP)

26. Cde Joe Phahla (LP)

27. Cde Obed Bapela (LP)

28. Cde Andrie Nel (GP)

29. Cde Rob Davies (WC)

30. Cde Joel Netshitenzde (GP)

31. Cde Ngoako Ramathlodi (LP

32. Cde Deriek Hanekom (WC)

33. Cde Jeremy Cronin (WC)

34. Cde Aaron Motsoaledi (LP)

35. Cde Maite Nkoana Mashabane (LP)

36. Cde Pravin Gordam (KZN)

37. Cde Cheryl Carolus (GP)

38. Cde Tina Joemat Peterson (NC)

39. Cde Mike Mabuyakhulu (KZN)

40. Cde Blade Nzimande (KZN)

41. Cde George Mashamba (LP)

42. Cde Joyce Mashamba (LP)

43. Cde Seputla Ramokgpha (GP)

44. Cde Thabang Makwetla (MP)

45. Cde Mathews Phosa (MP)

46. Cde Patel Ebrahim (GP)

47. Cde Myamezeli Booi (WC)

48. Cde Ebrahim Rasool (WC)

49. Cde Jackson Mthembu (MP)

50. Cde Lumka Yengeni (WC)

51. Cde David Maimela (KZN)

52. Cde Dipuo Lesatsi Duvha (LP)

53. Cde Dickson Masemola (LP)

54. Cde Songezwa Mjongile (WC)

55. Cde Maggy Sotyu (FS)

56. Cde Lebogang Masoga (LP)

57. Cde Pinky Kekana (LP)

58. Cde Dikeledi Magadzi (LP)

59. Cde Sabhidla Saphetha (KZN)

60. Cde Paggy Nkonyeni (KZN)

61. Cde Dipuo Mvelase (NW)

62. Cde Fish Mahlalela (MP)

63. Cde Candith Mashego Dhlamini (MP)

64. Cde Joyce Moloi Moropa (GP)

65. Cde Maite Marotha (LP)

66. Cde Qedani Mahlangu (GP)

67. Cde Faith Mazibuko (GP)

68. Cde Phophi Ramathuvha (LP)

69. Cde Stella Ndabeni Abrahams (NW)

70. Cde Pammy Majodina (EC)

71. Cde Thandi Tobias (FS)

72. Cde Sisisi Tolashe (EC)

73. Cde Dr. Sbongiseni Dlomo (KZN)

74. Cde Angie Motshekga (GP)

75. Cde Butana Komphela (FS)

76. Cde Dikeledi Magadzi (LP)

77. Cde Ayanda Dlodo (GP)

78. Cde Chohan Fatima Ismail (WC)

79. Cde Sindi Chikunga (MP)

80. Cde Zingiswa Losi (EC)