Select Page

Who’s who of the new ministers

Malusi Gigaba: Finance, replaces Pravin gordhan

The youthful Minister has served Public Enterprises Minister between  2010 and 2014 ,  he later moved to serve as the Home Affairs Minister since May 2014 to 2017. At 45 Gigaba is one of the Ministers who can be seen as to countering the presence of Julius Malema and Maimane.Gigaba is considered to be a close ally of President Zuma. He is a graduate of the University of Durban-Westville with a Master of Arts degree in Social Policy.

Joe Maswanganyi: Transport, replaces Dipuo Peters

The ANC Veteran has held various positions in Limpopo,  as the MEC of Sports, Arts and Culture.He is the member of parliament.Maswanganyi has a  Masters Degree in Political Science (Cum laude).

Ayanda Dlodlo: Communications, replaces Faith Muthambi

The new Minister served as the Deputy Minister for Public Service and Administration from 2010 and re-elected again in 2014 .  She is a member of the ANC National Executive Committee and a Member of Parliament .She also served as the Adviser to President Jacob Zuma  between 2009 to 2010 .

Prof  Hlengiwe Mkhize: Home Affairs ,replaces Malusi Gigaba

The new Minister was serving as the Deputy Minister of Telecommunications and Postal Services, since 2014.  She has also been serving  as a Member of Parliament since 2009.Mkhize she is treasurer general of the ANC’s Women’s League.An academic , Mkhize holds a Masters degree in Clinical Psychology from the University of Natal and also an Honorary Professor of Psychology at the University of South Africa .

Fikile Mbalula: Police, replaces Nathi Nhleko

Fikile Mabalula was flamboyantly serving as the  Minister of Sport and Recreation since 2014 , a member of Parliament since 6 May 2009, and is a member of the ANC NEC . He is coming back to serve in a position that he served before as deputy from May 2009 to  2010 .

Nathi Nhleko: Public Works, replaces Thulas Nxesi

The new minister was serving as the the Minister of Police since 2014, he is also  an MP.He was appointed the Director-General in the Department of Labour in 2011. Nhleko also served as the head of the special anti-corruption unit in the Department of Public Service and Administration.

Tokozile Xasa: Tourism, replaces  Derek Hanekom

The  new Minister was serving as the the deputy minister to Derek Hanekom since 2014.She holds a BA Honours from University Of Fort Hare in Public Administration and an MPA from the University Of Fort Hare.She is the first female mayor of a district municipality in the transitional period of local government in the Eastern Cape. She served as  MEC of Social Development, MEC for Housing, Local Government in the Eastern Cape.

Mmamabolo  Kubayi: Energy, replaces Tina Joemat-Petterssen

The new minister has served in the ANC regional structures as executive member.She also served as in Parliament as the Chairperson of the Portfolio committee on Telecommunications and Postal Services

Faith Muthambi: Public Services and and Administration ,replaces Ngoako Ramatlhodi

The new minister has been serving the Minister of Communications since 2014 , she is also a MP. She holds a BProc degree from the University of Venda and also completed her Attorney’s Admission Exam in 2000. Opposition party MPs called for the minister to be axed following the SABC inquiry .

Thulas Nxesi: Sports and Recreation Minister ,replaces Fikile Mbalula

The Minister comes from Public Works where he was serving since 2011 as the Minister, he was reappointed in 2014 .He also served as the Deputy Minister of Rural Development and Land Reform between 2010 and  2011. He is a unionist , he served as the  president of Education International and secretary of the National Education Union of South Africa .